top of page
Search

Bonus Post: An Interview with Rue, a Missionary in West Africa




Hello, friends! Today I have a bonus post that's different than normal for you. It's an interview with Rue, a missionary in West Africa. Enjoy!



Welcome! Can you introduce yourself and tell us about your testimony?


Eyy, hello! I’m Rue and I'm a teenage missionary in West Africa. I love adventures, goofing off with my siblings, music, writing, laughter, rain, and sunflowers.


Growing up, I was the kid that had all the answers. You know . . .the kid that got upset with the Sunday school teacher because “Noah didn’t only take two of every animal! He took more of some animals for the sacrifices—it says so right here!” That kid.


When I was eleven we moved to France for language training before heading to Africa. I loved it there. The whole experience was wonderful. But it was also a season of life where I drifted the farthest away from God. There was a day I sat at my windowsill, stared out at the regal mountains graced in snow and whispered, “God, I know You’re real. But if You don’t care about me. . .why should I care about You?” Simple truth? I was depressed. Really depressed.


We moved to Africa and I went from depressed to hopeless. See, the problem is I knew a lot about God, but I didn’t really know Him. And when you lose sight of your Creator. . .you’re bound to lose sight of your identity too.


A couple of years ago I was sitting on our West African beach with my dad, watching the waves rise and fall. . .rise and fall. And I broke into tears. Because there’s something so beautiful about knowing your world is broken, hurting, and lost. . .but realizing that somehow the waves still rise and fall and go no further than He allows. That’s breathtaking. And I realized then, that the same God that rules the seas. . .loves me. And He loves you. And He doesn’t just want you to know about Him, friend.


He wants you to really know Him.



Describe your life as a missionary in West Africa.


Oh goodness, where to start? Life as a missionary in West Africa is so full of unplanned-for adventures, unique experiences, and lovely new perspectives. I recently summed it up to a close friend as a “cow tied up on the back of a moto that’s passing a semi-truck which is so overloaded there’s a man sitting on top with a stick to push up electricity lines.” (Yup, that’s a fairly usual sight here).


My main ministry focuses right now are serving my missionary team, loving others (including my family!), my blog, and kids club. Kids club is a really fun event we do every Saturday for the kids in our village. They can come and listen to Bible stories, sing songs, play games, and just hang out! It’s such a lovely experience to run around with them, see their smiles, and remind them they are loved by God.



What is the hardest thing about being a missionary kid? What do you love the most about it?


The answer to both questions is the same, actually: people. They come and go. There are a lot of hellos and goodbyes in missions–which can be really emotionally draining. To put it into perspective, I have said over five-hundred goodbyes in the past four years. It can definitely be tough, but it’s so wonderful to look back and see how God used different people to shape me into who I am today.


On a brighter note, something I really love about missions is how it makes me draw closer to God. Life in Africa is hard sometimes, but He has used every difficulty to strengthen my faith and grow me spiritually.



What is the Christian community like where you live? Are there many believers? If not, how do you deal with being different from most people around you?


There is a Christian community, between our missionary team and the local church. However, my family’s passion is to work primarily with Muslims and the Muslims in this area are vastly unreached and unengaged.


Honestly, being an overseas missionary I’ve always been “different.” A few weeks ago there was a group of precious Muslim girls that ran over, squealing and giggling over one another as they touched my skin and hair. Missions has taught me that it’s okay to be different. It’s okay to not belong. This earth is not our home. And honestly? We’re all broken people in desperate need of a greater God. That’s what connects us. It took me a long time to learn that, but it certainly puts a smile on my face now.



Is there a time when someone around you was deeply impacted by the Gospel and through your family’s work in sharing the Gospel? If so, can you tell us about that time?


Yes! Several times, actually—each being God’s doing and not our own. For me personally it was with our friends’ daughter. They brought her to our house one evening when she was really struggling emotionally. My dad asked if I would come out to talk with her and I did. After a long conversation that was seemingly going nowhere I asked her parents if I could take her up to the roof to show her something.


When we got up to the roof I said, “Okay, friend. Sit down and just look up at the stars.” We sat there for a long time just staring at the night’s diamonds sparkling in an ocean of velvet sky. Finally, I took her hand and whispered, “Alevia, the God who made those stars knows your name. And He loves you.” She started crying and we had a lovely conversation about the gospel. It was truly beautiful to see how God was working in her heart through it all.



What is something God is teaching you right now?


Eyy, what a wonderful question! He’s teaching me to trust in the waiting. . .to live well in the waiting. There are a lot of unknowns in life. A lot of unplanned-for, unwanted, and unpredictable events. But God stays the same all the way. And He doesn’t want us to live in tomorrow. Sometimes He’s smiling and whispering, “patience, child. I gave you today. Live it well.” So I’m working on living for God in the little, everyday moments and the little, everyday things.



Do you have any encouragement or advice for someone going on a mission trip or who wants to be a missionary?


Oh, lots! But the two most important things I can think to say are these. . .


1. Follow. In some seasons of our life we’re called to stay, in other seasons we’re called to go. Some people are never called away from their birth country, others are called for their entire lives. Wherever He leads. . .whether it’s here or there. . .follow. Don’t worry about where He’ll call you tomorrow, just follow Him today.


2. Live in love. Have compassion for the lost around you. Friends, the harvest is plentiful but the laborers are few—even in the United States! Just love. Love loudly. Love boldly. Love fearlessly. Don’t be afraid of the mess. . .because we’re all a mess. Just live in love right where you are.



I hope you enjoyed the interview! Check out Rue’s blog, This Messy Thing Called Life, at https://messylife.blog.



38 views4 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Taking a Break in March

Dear readers, I'm sorry I've gone incognito lately. I have decided to take a break from posting throughout March, but I will let you know when I get back to it in April!

Post: Blog2_Post

SUBSCRIBE!

Receive bonus content and be the first to know about special announcements. 

Post: Welcome
bottom of page