top of page
Search

Book Review: Praying Through the Names of God by Tony Evans


**Note: When I originally started Inhuman Passion, I wanted to do book reviews on every book I read. Well, now, I have a big pile of books waiting to be reviewed. After this review, I’ve decided to only do book reviews for books I’d heartily recommend or have learned a lot from. I think that’d help you as a reader, too. I’m sure you don’t want a never-ending list of books to read from me XD.**



God is so many things. He’s our Creator. He’s our Shelter and Fortress. He’s our Father, Lord, and Judge. He’s our “Wonderful Counselor, Mighty God, Everlasting Father, Prince of Peace” (Isaiah 9:6).


Praying Through the Names of God by Tony Evans includes almost 200 pages of prayers for countless biblical names of God. I got the book at a church retreat that was themed “HE IS.” At the retreat, we talked about all the different names God is called by--and it seriously changed my perspective on God.


God has so many roles and names, all of which are good. Everything I need can be satisfied by God through one of His roles. Do I need forgiveness? God is merciful. Do I need an escape from a bad situation? God is my deliverer.


Praying Through the Names of God led me to focus more on God instead of myself in my prayers. It isn’t bad to pray to ask God for things, but this book made me realize that I needed to focus more on praising God for who He is and thanking Him for what He has done in my prayers.


When my prayers’ focus was on God, my worries faded. Having my focus on Someone higher helped me become concerned about godly things rather than passing worldly troubles. Still, if worldly situations were worrying me, the names of God reassured me that He could deal with anything that came my way.


The book’s prayers were divided into four sections for each name of God: adoration, confession, thanksgiving, and supplication.


The adoration section focused on just that: giving adoration and praise to God for who He is. His different names reveal so many different aspects of Him, and all of His names are worthy of praise.


“Let everything that has breath praise the Lord! Praise the Lord!” (Psalm 150:6).


The confession section leads readers to repent for not fully recognizing God’s names and roles. In this section, the author asks for forgiveness for failing to marvel at God’s different names, for not adknowledging God’s names, or even for ignoring some of His names. Reading this section made me realize I’m guilty of many of the things Tony asked forgiveness for, and I need to repent along with him.


“If we confess our sins, he is faithful and just to forgive us our sins and to cleanse us from all unrighteousness” (1 John 1:9).


In the thanksgiving section, Tony thanks God for being who He is. God’s character is unfailing, never-changing, and wonderful. Every one of His names reveals a new good aspect of Him. We should praise and thank God for who He is!


“Oh give thanks to the LORD, for He is good; for His steadfast love endures forever!” (1 Chronicles 16:34).


The supplication section asks for help trusting in God and recognizing His names in the future. If we know God fulfills a certain role, such as being our salvation or rock, we should live like it. The supplication section is where we ask for help to live out what we learned about God through His name.


“My help comes from the Lord, who made heaven and earth” (Psalm 121:2).


This book also reminded me that God is not only my God. He was Jacob, Daniel’s, and Abraham’s God too, and they called Him by the same names I call Him. God has been there for so many different people over the years. But everything He was for people in the Bible, He still is because He is the same yesterday, today, and forever (Hebrews 13:8).


I’ve learned to recognize God for who He is, and to focus on and form my identity on who He is.


Do you know who God is?


Some examples of names from the book:


Elohim - the Strong Creator God


Jehovah - the Relational God


Elohei Tehillati - God of my praise


And so much more!

17 views3 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Taking a Break in March

Dear readers, I'm sorry I've gone incognito lately. I have decided to take a break from posting throughout March, but I will let you know when I get back to it in April!

Post: Blog2_Post

SUBSCRIBE!

Receive bonus content and be the first to know about special announcements. 

Post: Welcome
bottom of page