top of page
Search

For When We Get Distracted During Worship…


You stand, singing along to the words as they appear on a screen. The music is loud, and the singers are passionate--this is supposed to be an impactful night. You see others around you getting into the worship songs, raising their hands, crying out to God…


But you’re not there with them. You’ve been trying to concentrate all night; to pour your heart out and worship your Savior, but the words aren’t coming the way they normally do. 


You sing song lyrics that don’t evoke their usual emotion. Your short prayers seem unthoughtful because you don’t have the right words or feelings. Your mind is miles away from where it’s supposed to be. 


Have you ever felt far-off during worship? You’re singing the words, but thinking about something unrelated?


That happens to me sometimes. Recently I was at an event where we worshipped most of the night, and I couldn’t seem to stay focused on God. I don’t remember what I was thinking about now, but my mind goes to all sorts of places when I get distracted… what I’m going to buy my friend for her birthday, whether I said the right thing in a conversation, a boy I like. 


It’s easy to feel guilty when we get distracted, and getting distracted definitely isn’t great, but it happens to everyone. If you get distracted during worship or a sermon, know that you’re not the only one who struggles with that. 


I find that when I’m having trouble paying attention during worship, it’s because my mind is overstimulated in some way. It can be a good thing: maybe something really exciting happened that day. When something happens that makes me really happy, I tend to dwell on it for the rest of the day. 


Or maybe I’m stressed about an event coming up, or worried that I messed up something earlier that day. Worry is one thing that can cause our mind to be overstimulated. It takes intentionality to put worries aside and focus on the Lord. 


I don’t know about you, but whe I get distracted during worship or a sermon, I try my hardest to focus on the sermon again… and then my mind tunes out again a couple of minutes later. But next time this happens, I want to get the things distracting me off of my chest instead of pushing them to the side. 


Maybe I’m really stressed about something and I need to talk to God about it during a church service. I want to get to the root of why I’m stressed and distracted. Is there something I’m not trusting God with? 


Maybe someone said something that made me really happy earlier that day. Is there something that I could thank God for? Should I talk to Him about something exciting that happened?



Here are some encouraging verses for the times we can’t focus because of stress. 


“Fear not, for I am with you;

    be not dismayed, for I am your God;

I will strengthen you, I will help you,

    I will uphold you with my righteous right hand” (Isaiah 41:10). 


“Let not your hearts be troubled. Believe in God; believe also in me” (John 14:1). 


“Have I not commanded you? Be strong and courageous. Do not be frightened, and do not be dismayed, for the Lord your God is with you wherever you go” (Joshua 1:9). 


“And he said to his disciples, “Therefore I tell you, do not be anxious about your life, what you will eat, nor about your body, what you will put on.” Luke 12:22


“When the righteous cry for help, the Lord hears

    and delivers them out of all their troubles” (Psalm 34:17). 


“When the cares of my heart are many,

    your consolations cheer my soul” (Psalm 94:19). 

 

“Trust in the Lord with all your heart,

    and do not lean on your own understanding.

  In all your ways acknowledge him,

    and he will make straight your paths” (Proverbs 3:5-6). 

 

“Do not be anxious about anything, but in everything by prayer and supplication with thanksgiving let your requests be made known to God. And the peace of God, which surpasses all understanding, will guard your hearts and your minds in Christ Jesus” (Philippians 4:6-7). 


“Come to me, all who labor and are heavy laden, and I will give you rest. Take my yoke upon you, and learn from me, for I am gentle and lowly in heart, and you will find rest for your souls. For my yoke is easy, and my burden is light” (Matthew 11:28-30). 

 

“Now may the Lord of peace himself give you peace at all times in every way. The Lord be with you all” (2 Thessalonians 3:16). 

 

Next time I continually get distracted in church, I’m going to try to pray about it instead of

pushing through and trying to overcome the distraction on my own--because the latter doesn’t work. God can focus my mind and heart on Himself far better than I can. 

 


11 views1 comment

Recent Posts

See All

Taking a Break in March

Dear readers, I'm sorry I've gone incognito lately. I have decided to take a break from posting throughout March, but I will let you know when I get back to it in April!

Post: Blog2_Post

SUBSCRIBE!

Receive bonus content and be the first to know about special announcements. 

Post: Welcome
bottom of page