top of page
Search

Have you prayed for Vladimir Putin?


“And when Jesus heard it, He said to them, ‘Those who are well have no need of a physician, but those who are sick. I came not to call the righteous, but sinners.’”

-Mark 2:17


Last Sunday, my pastor gave a sermon on Mark 2 (view it here). In this chapter, the Pharisees question Jesus when He eats with tax collectors and sinners. Tax collectors are considered the worst of sinners, and Jesus, who claims to be perfect and righteous, is associating with them.


When questioned by the Pharisees, Jesus tells them He came to save sinners. That means everyone. Even the Pharisees sinned in their self-righteousness. And Jesus has saved some ‘big-time’ sinners - just look at Saul, who later became the apostle Paul.


My pastor explained this passage and started to talk about praying for people we might hate - people we consider sinners. Then he asked a question that hit me: “Have you prayed for Vladimir Putin?”


It was a relevant question, considering the current conflict between Russia and Ukraine. Vladimir Putin, who is currently killing thousands of people and ordering an unwarranted war so he can gain power, is a sinner. And Jesus came to save sinners. Doesn’t Jesus want to save Putin, too?


Saul, walking the road to Damascus, had his life changed by God.

Vladimir Putin, sitting in his office planning his next military move, can have his life changed by God.


I hadn’t been praying for Vladimir Putin. I had been praying for Ukraine, its citizens, and neighboring countries, but I had never thought to pray for the one causing much of the mess going on right now. Once my pastor mentioned praying for Putin, it seemed so obvious of an action. I should have been praying for him. I should be routinely praying for those in power, even if - especially if - they are evil.


Have you been praying for those who seem too far gone? Maybe it’s a government leader, or maybe it’s the person you sit next to every day at school. I dare you to pray for that person right now. If they’re the one person you just know will never come to know Christ, someone who you’re disgusted to think of because of the things they do, still pray for them. Our God does great things. He can change their heart.


I’ll pray, too.


Lord, I pray for Vladimir Putin. Please change him. I know You can work miracles in evil people - You changed Saul. Vladimir Putin is not out of reach or too far gone. Please work Your way into his life, whether it be through an advisor, the media, or any other means. Change his heart, Lord. Change it to beat for You. Grow in him a love for You. Please end the conflict between Russia and Ukraine, and please do it through Vladimir Putin. The world will marvel if he changes. Even if You don’t change him, I know You are working out Your perfect plan. It is his choice to follow You. Be with Vladimir Putin, Lord. Amen.

14 views3 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Taking a Break in March

Dear readers, I'm sorry I've gone incognito lately. I have decided to take a break from posting throughout March, but I will let you know when I get back to it in April!

Post: Blog2_Post

SUBSCRIBE!

Receive bonus content and be the first to know about special announcements. 

Post: Welcome
bottom of page